Five Year Plans

Eleventh Five Year Plan (2007-2012)

The Eleventh Five Year Plan seeks to accelerate the pace of growth while also making it more inclusive. The growth objective is to achieve an average growth rate of 9% per annum for the Plan period. The objective of inclusiveness is reflected in the adoption of 26 other monitorable targets at the national level relating to (i) income and poverty, (ii) education, (iii) health, (iv) women and children, (v) infrastructure, and (vi) environment.

Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007)

The tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007) targets at a GDP growth rate of 8% per annum. The primary aim of the tenth Five Year Plan is to renovate the nation extensively, making it competent enough with some of the fastest growing economies across the globe. It has a special focus on providing adequate work opportunities, removing regional imbalances, improving quality of governance, integrating disaster management in the planning framework, providing information on schemes and programme of the Ministries and ensuring sectoral investments.

Ninth Five Year Plan (1997-2002)

The Ninth Five Year Plan ushers in a new era of growth with social justice and participation in which not only the Governments at the Centre and the States, but the people at large, particularly the poor, become effective instruments of a participatory planning process. Thus, its focus is "Growth with Social Justice and Equity". It recognizes the integral link between rapid economic growth and the quality of life of the mass of the people.

Eighth Five Year Plan (1992-1998)

The Eighth Plan reoriented some of the development paradigms, since its objective was to lay a sound foundation for higher growth and achieving the most significant goals, namely, improvement in the levels of living, health and education of the people, total employment, elimination of poverty and a planned growth in population.